Rafael Nadal “The King of Clay”

Rafael Nadal Parera known as Rafa was born on 3 June 1986, is a Spanish professional tennis player, currently ranked world No. 1 in men’s singles tennis by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP). Known as “The King of Clay”, he is regarded as the greatest clay-court player in the history. Nadal’s skill and talent makes him as one of the greatest tennis players of all time.

Rafeal Nadal "The King of Clay"

He broke Andre Agassi’s record winning 24 consecutive singles matches for a male tennager.  This made him one of the favorite’s tennis players at his career-first French Open. In the 2005, Nadal defeated Federer at French Open semifinals, becoming one of only four players who defeated the top-seeded player that year (along Marat Safin, Richard Gasquet, and David Nalbandian). After two days, he defeated Mariano Puerta in the final, becoming the second male player after Mats Wilander to win the French Open on his first attempt. At the age 19, Nadal also won the Grand Slam singles title as a first teenager since Pete Sampras won the 1990 US Open and winning the French Open upgraded Nadal’s ranking to No. 3.

Rafeal Nadal "The King of Clay"

Nadal won total 16 Grand Slam singles titles. He has a record of 32 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 titles as well as 20 ATP World Tour 500 tournaments and 2008 Olympic gold medal in singles. Nadal has captured 10 French Open titles, 3 US Open titles, 2 Wimbledon titles and one Australian Open title. In, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2011, he was one of the member of the Spain Davis Cup winning team. He has become the history’s seventh male player and youngest of five in the Open Era to achieve the Career Grand Slam at age 24 in 2010. He has completed the singles Career Golden Slam and the second male player, after Andre Agassi. In 2011, Nadal was named the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year and greatest clay player of all time in history.

Watch out for Roger Federer and tennis related.

20 thoughts on “Rafael Nadal “The King of Clay”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *